As the season opens later this month, Sedgwick County seeks a third consecutive eight-man state championship and several key players return for the Cougars.  Included on the list are quarterback Brennan Ehmke and Tyce Marquez who both received all-state honors as juniors.
Defensive stalwarts Seth Mondragon of Dayspring Christian and Christian Schaller from Sargent also return for their senior season and both hope to end their prep careers with state titles.
Below is a quick list and breakdown of the players in eight man football that return after being named either first or second team all-state in 2016.


Brennan Ehmke — Sedgwick County

  • Completed 87 of 146 pass attempts as a junior for 1,806 yards
  • Tossed 27 touchdowns compared to just one interception
  • Had attempted just 10 passes in high school career before last season
  • Directed team to second consecutive state championship

Seth Mondragon — Dayspring Christian

  • Led Eagles with 159 tackles or nearly 16 per game
  • Led team in both solo tackles (80) and assists (79)
  • Topped Eagles with seven tackles for loss
  • Top returning tackler statewide in eight-man


Remington Canfield — Merino

  • Second on team with 1,345 yards and 14 touchdowns
  • Averaged over eight yards per carry
  • Second on the Rams with 117 tackles
  • Second on the club with seven tackles for loss

Tyce Marquez — Sedgwick County

  • Third on team with 514 yards rushing and six touchdowns
  • Second on club with 100 tackles
  • Tied for second on Cougars with three interceptions
  • Also recorded two fumble recoveries

Christian Schaller — Sargent

  • Topped defense with 143 tackles in 11 games (13.0)
  • Ran for 370 yards and six touchdowns
  • Averaged 9.3 yards per carry
  • Helped Farmers to back-to-back appearances in state semifinals

Jacob Yates — Hoehne

  • Threw for team best 516 yards and nine touchdowns as a junior
  • Led Farmers with 1,371 yards rushing and 18 touchdowns
  • Averaging 9.3 yards per carry
  • Recorded six 100 yard rushing games as a junior

2016 All-State Football Teams (6man & 8man)